2016 participants of the inaugural Emerging Global Leader Institute held in Washington, DC.

The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International's (STTI's) Institute for Global Healthcare Leadership® are one of several global initiatives outlined in the call to action of STTI President (2013-2015) Hester C. Klopper, PhD, MBA, RN, RM, FANSA, and was created under her leadership with support from the Nancy Dickenson-Hazard Leadership Fund at Sigma Theta Tau International Foundation for Nursing.

Emerging Global Leader Institute

September 2017 in Washington, D.C.

This institute is designed to prepare globally-aware healthcare leaders to:

  1. Successfully participate in global healthcare ventures and networking.
  2. Become a global thought and practice leader, locally, and regionally.
  3. Provide local and regional consultation to effectively meet dynamic contemporary global healthcare needs.
  4. View healthcare issues from a global perspective.

Experienced Global Leader Institute

Coming in 2018

This institute is designed to prepare experienced global healthcare leaders to:

  1. Be global thought and practice leaders nationally and globally.
  2. Successfully, lead, collaborate and participate in global healthcare ventures.
  3. Assume and effectively meet the global demands of critical healthcare leadership positions within their countries.
  4. Provide national and global consultation to effectively meet dynamic contemporary global healthcare needs.

Our experts will guide you through a wide range of global topics, including:

  • Global Health Executive Leadership
  • The Global Economy
  • Structure, Systems, and Support
  • Culture
  • Policy and Politics
  • Your Role: Influence v. Implementation
  • Networking and Trends
  • Tensions and Shifting Sands
  • Value Proposition
  • Ethics
  • Best Practices

The Institute for Global Healthcare Leadership® Advisory Board includes the following members:

Ann Marie Brooks, RN, DNSc, MBA, FAAN, FACHE, FNAP

Silvia Cassiani, PhD
Advisor on Nursing and Allied Health Personnel, PAHO/WHO

John Daly, PhD, RN, FACN, FAAN
Dean, Faculty of Health and Director, WHO Collaborating Centre for Nursing, Midwifery and Health Development

Patricia Davidson, PhD, MEd, RN, FAAN
Professor, Dean, School of Nursing, Johns Hopkins University

Sabina De Geest, PhD, RN, FAAN, FRCN
Institute of Nursing Science, Faculty of Medicine, University of Basel, Switzerland
Academic Center for Nursing and Midwifery, Faculty of Medicine, KU Leuven, Belgium

Hester C. Klopper, PhD, MBA, RN, RM, FANSA
President, Sigma Theta Tau International 2013-2015
Chief Executive Officer, FUNDISA

Maura MacPhee, PhD, RN
Associate Professor, University of British Columbia

Marty Makinen, PhD
Results for Development Institute's Program Director for the Health Workforce and Ministerial Leadership Initiative

Leslie Mancuso, PhD, RN, FAAN
President and Chief Executive Officer, Jhpiego

Carol Huston, MSN, MPA, DPA, FAAN
Leadership Consultant and Facilitator

Kevin Ousman, RN MSN-HSM
Jonas Nurse Leaders Scholar Program

Contributing Sponsors


Institute updates and instructions on how to register will be posted on this site as details are finalized. If you have other specific questions, please email STTI: IGHL@stti.org.